Strength Performance Network

Cory Lee Farnum J.r.
  • Male
  • Des Moines, IA
  • United States
Share on Facebook
Share
  • Blog Posts
  • Events
  • Photos
  • Photo Albums
  • Videos
 

Cory Lee Farnum J.r.'s Page

Profile Information

Relation to the Strength & Conditioning Industry?
Student
Name of School, Team or Business
Iowa State University
Job Title
Junior at ISU
Current Job Description
I am currently only working at a part-time job in a warehouse that is flexible enough to work with my full school schedule. I do not have anyone to assist me in paying for school or day to day expenses so I have no option but to have a job that pays well. I am currently and have been looking for positions in the sports performance field near me but so far I haven't had any luck with any of them willing to work with my busy schedule.
Past Job Experience
During the summer time is where I get the chance for experience in the field of sports performance/strength and conditioning. For the past three summers I have volunteered my time and created a 6-week pre-season strength and conditioning program for Norwalk Senior High School's football team. I was also allowed to run both sessions of athletes and each session had anywhere from 20-60 kids.
Job responsibilities:
- Create and design 6-week pre-season strength and conditioning program
- Interact with athletes everyday, motivate and encourage athletes, mentor and listen to athletes concerns, and have a relationship with the rest of the coaching staff.
- Set up and tear down all drills and equipment used
- Assisted in buying new bumper plates for the entire weight room
- Spoke to coaches of other sports to inform them of the importance of proper strength and conditioning training for the overall success of their program.
- Teaching proper technique for new or more advanced movements
- Assist in spotting athletes and also teach proper spotting techniques
- Communicate with coaches and athletes as to why they are doing the certain movements or exercises that they're doing.
Each year, I come into the summer more educated and better prepared to face any challenges I have faced in the past. I've loved every single experience while helping their team take their abilities to the next level and am passionate about learning the most effective strategies for strength and conditioning professionals. This past summer I was able to land a job a Ignit Sports and Fitness which is a training facility in Des Moines, IA that offers sports performance training. This job was a different world for me because I was working with only one athlete or maybe a small group of them so I had to be able to find new ways to structure programs to fit their needs the best. This was also my first time dealing with such a diverse group of athletes, in any given day I could train kids anywhere between the ages of 6 and 20. I think the diversity is something that really helped me grow because I was out of my comfort zone at first but learned to adapt and become more familiar with the strength and conditioning literature and was able to design and run some very promising programs for a handful of different athletes with different backgrounds, sport experience, training experience, etc.
Job responsibilities:
- Instruct athletes of all ages proper stretching and flexibility work to properly warm-up and also cool down post-workout.
- Design training sessions that are unique to each athletes needs.
- Train anywhere from 1 to 10 athletes at a time through their specific training needs.
- Create a 12-week strength and conditioning program for a men's soccer team with two of the students that were interning at the time.
- Speaking with athletes parents before and after training sessions because it's a great way to gain insight into who the kids really are and that allows for more effective coaching strategies to be implemented that are specific to them and the person they are.
- Cleaning up the facility every free chance.
- Set up and take down of drills and other equipment used.
Education
I am currently a Junior at Iowa State University studying Kinesiology & Health in the exercise science option. I hold a 3.0 gpa in my degree specific courses which is something I take pride in because Iowa State's Kinesiology program is one of the best. I enjoy going to my classes and being able to learn something new each and every day. The unlimited opportunity for knowledge and success is something that keeps me going through my studies because no matter how difficult it can get I know that I have a unique opportunity to learn these amazing things about the human body so that one day I can take that knowledge and help other individuals out that are not as informed. I am also a transfer student, before I got to ISU I attended a community college called Des Moines Area Community College where I earned my degree in Fitness & Sports management AS. Getting that degree I think was a good choice because not only did it line up with what I wanted to study at ISU but I was able to study a little bit of the business side of the industry which is something I think a lot of programs don't hit on.
Job Status
I am seeking a new job

Comment Wall

You need to be a member of Strength Performance Network to add comments!

Join Strength Performance Network

  • No comments yet!
 
 
 

© 2018   Created by Brian Harris.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service